College of Education Sitemap
Skip to Main Content

Department of Educational Administration

Educational Administration

The Dr. Mildred B. Erickson Distinguished Chair in Higher, Adult and Lifelong Education

The Higher, Adult and Lifelong Education Program at Michigan State University is very fortunate to have received a generous gift from the late Dr. Bruce Erickson, the son of Dr. Mildred Erickson, to establish a distinguished chair supporting the work of faculty members. The purpose of the Mildred B. Erickson Distinguished Chair in Higher, Adult and Lifelong Education is to enhance scholarship and to support activities consistent with the values and ideals of Dr. Mildred Erickson. Every three years, a HALE faculty member is selected to hold this chair.

About Mildred Erickson

Dr. Mildred Erickson, following the passing of her husband, MSU Provost and former College of Education Dean Clifford E. Erickson, enrolled as a doctoral student in administration and higher education. She became director of adult student advising and assistant dean for lifelong education programs at MSU, working as a tireless advocate for the adult student. Dr. Erickson believed in giving non-traditional students a chance at higher education—not just financially, but through strong encouragement as well. She dedicated a great portion of her life to helping women attend college and attain the self-respect and credibility that accompany an education. Dr. Erickson was the recipient of numerous titles, distinguished honors and awards as a result of her illustrious career in teaching, counseling, and community service.

The Erickson Chair

Professor Kristen Renn assumed the Erickson Chair role in 2021. Her research, while as chair, will focus primarily examining the past, present and future of land-grant universities. Among her queries, Renn will explore what being a “land grant” institution means, and how those institutions contribute to society. At the same time, Renn will work to acknowledge the varied, and sometimes problematic, past of land grant institutions. The Erickson Chair role will provide avenues to delve deeper into equity, access and possibilities of higher education, using the land-grant mission as a starting point. She hopes some of what comes out of the position will help understand the narrative of where these universities have come from, and outline possibilities of where they can go.

The following faculty members previously served as the Erickson Chair:

Dr. Marilyn Amey (2017-2020)

Dr. Roger Baldwin (2015-2017)

Dr. Ann Austin (2005-2008), (2014-2015)

Dr. John Dirkx (2011-2014)

Dr. James Fairweather (2008-2011)

Past Erickson Chair Symposiums