Renewal of the Standard Certificate

If requirements for the Professional Certificate have not been met when the Standard Certificate expires, you may renew your Standard Certificate.

  • Renewal requires 150 hours of education-related professional learning earned and entered into MOECS since issuance of the Standard Certificate or renewal of the Standard Certificate; options include:
    • Six semester credit hours at a college or university
    • 150 SCECHS (State Continuing Education Clock Hours)
    • 150 DPPD (District Provided Professional Development) hours
    • Some combination of #1-3 after issuance of most recent certificate, OR
    • An education-related master’s or higher degree earned at any time (may be used one time to renew the Standard Certificate)

TE 800 level coursework taken for the initial (Standard) certificate cannot be reused for renewal of the Standard Certificate or to earn the Professional certificate, even if these credits are applied to a master’s program.

The Standard Certificate is valid for 5 years

  • It must be renewed every 5 years
  • Renewals are unlimited.
  • All certificates expire 5 years from June 30 of the calendar year in which the certificate was issued.
  • Renewals are handled through MOECS (see instructions).

Education-Related Professional Learning Hour Conversion

  • College credit: 1 semester hour = 25 professional learning hours
  • SCECH hours: 1 SCECH hour = 1 professional learning hour
  • DPPD hours: 1 DPPD hour = 1 professional learning hour 

For complete and current certification information, see the Michigan Department of Education website.