Click here for Site Map
Jump to Main Content

Erickson Chair Menu

The Dr. Mildred B. Erickson Distinguished Chair in Higher, Adult and Lifelong Education

Mildred B. Erickson PictureThe Higher, Adult, and Lifelong Education Program at Michigan State University is very fortunate to have received a generous gift from the late Dr. Bruce Erickson, the son of Dr. Mildred Erickson, to establish a distinguished chair supporting the work of faculty members. The purpose of the Mildred B. Erickson Distinguished Chair in Higher, Adult, and Lifelong Education is to enhance scholarship and to support activities consistent with the values and ideals of Dr. Mildred Erickson. Every three years, a HALE faculty member is selected to hold this Chair.


About Mildred Erickson

Dr. Mildred Erickson, following the passing of her husband, MSU Provost and former College of Education Dean Clifford E. Erickson, enrolled as a doctoral student in administration and higher education. She became director of adult student advising and assistant dean for lifelong education programs at MSU, working as a tireless advocate for the adult student. Dr. Erickson believed in giving non-traditional students a chance at higher education -- not just financially, but through strong encouragement as well. She dedicated a great portion of her life to helping women attend college and attain the self-respect and credibility that accompany an education. Dr. Erickson was the recipient of numerous titles, distinguished honors, and awards as a result of her illustrious career in teaching, counseling, and community service.

The Erickson Chair

Mildred B. Erickson PictureProfessor Roger Baldwin is the current Erickson Chair, having assumed the position in 2015. Dr. Baldwin's most recent work focuses on evolving faculty roles and professional activities, appointment patterns and the later stages of academic careers. He is currently studying the potential of retired faculty organizations (RFOs) and emeritus colleges to extend the academic impact of professors and provide valuable contributions to higher education institutions.

The following faculty members previously served as the Erickson Chair:

Dr. Ann Austin (2005-2008), (2014-2015)
Dr. John Dirkx (2011-2014)

Dr. James Fairweather (2008-2011)