College of Education Sitemap
Skip to Main Content

National Academy of Kinesiology Members

The National Academy of Kinesiology is dedicated to encouraging and promoting the study and science of human movement and physical education. The Fellows of the organization, selected by committee, represent some of the distinguished leaders in the field. Fellows include individuals from around the world whose research and service have made a notable and significant impact on research and practice.
The year indicated after each name designates the year in which the individual was inducted as a Fellow.

Michigan State University’s members:

  • Alan Smith 2012
  • John Powell (Emeritus) 2006
  • James Pivarnik 1997
  • Daniel Gould 1995
  • Deborah Feltz (Emerita) 1992
  • Robert Malina (Emeritus) 1982
  • Vern D. Seefeldt (Emeritus) 1981
  • Robert N. Singer 1977
  • William Heusner (Emeritus) 1971
  • Wayne Van Huss (Emeritus) 1967
  • Henry Montoye 1960
  • King J. McCristal (Emeritus) 1952
  • Arthur Steinhaus (Emeritus) 1930

Alumi members:

  • Anthony P. Kontos - to be officially entered into the Fellowship in Sept. 2018
  • Thelma Sternberg Horn 2016
  • Sian Beilock 2013
  • Dale Ulrich 2005
  • Beverly Ulrich 1996
  • Maureen Weiss 1994