College of Education Sitemap
Skip to Main Content

Charles H. and Betty Lou Awrey Carscallen Endowed Scholarship in Teacher Education

Recipients shall be undergraduate students or post B.A. (intern year) studentsfrom a rural district,who have been admitted to the teacher education program in either elementary or secondary education with demonstrated financial need as determined by the federal government according to its policies and procedures.

Selection Criteria

Preference will be given to students in elementary education from Ogemaw County, MI.  If such a student is not identified in a particular year, the following criteria (in order of preference) should be used.
  1. Secondary education student from Ogemaw County.
  2. Elementary education student from the following Michigan Counties (listed in alphabetical order): Alcona, Arenac, Clare, Crawford, Gladwin, Iosco, Kalkaska, Missaukee, Montmorency, Osceola, Oscoda, Otsego and Roscommon.  
  3. Secondary education student from the same Michigan counties listed above.
  4. Elementary education student from a rural district in Michigan.
  5. Secondary education student from a rural district in Michigan.    

Such scholarships may be renewable for up to four years (for five total years) if the student remains in good academic standing.