Teacher education professor selected to be AERA Fellow

March 14, 2011

Mary Kennedy, professor of teacher education at Michigan State University, was selected as one of 31 scholars to be an American Educational Research Association (AERA) Fellow for 2011.

Fellows are recognized for their exceptional scientific or scholarly contributions to education research, or significant contributions to the field through the development of research opportunities and settings.

Through the Fellows Program, AERA aims to convey its commitment to excellence in research and to underscore to new scholars the importance of sustained research contributions in the field.

Kennedy, who has been a MSU College of Education faculty member for 25 years , will be inducted on April 9, 2011 during AERA’s 92nd Annual Meeting in New Orleans.

She joins five MSU colleagues who have received the honor: Ann Austin, Jere Brophy (deceased), Joe Byers (emeritus), Barbara Schneider and William Schmidt.

Former College of Education professor Anna Neumann (1990-2001) also will be named as an AERA Fellow this year. She is now a professor of higher education at Teachers College, Columbia University.

For more details and a complete list of fellows, visit the AERA website.