Three graduates named ACPA Diamond Honorees

January 13, 2022

Three graduates of Michigan State University’s College of Education were selected for the American College Personnel Association’s Class of 2022 Diamond Honoree cohort.  

The distinction is given to scholars in the field whose work supports and amplifies student development and success. Throughout the year in which they are celebrated, honorees are “championed” by their nominators, and funds are raised to continue and promote the work of the association.  

The graduates recognized in 2022 are:  

  • Jody Jessup-Anger, Ph.D. ’09 (HALE), is a professor of higher education and program coordinator of the Student Affairs in Higher Education master’s program at Marquette University. Her research centers on how environments at higher education institutions can facilitate or impede student achievement. 
  • Stephen Santa-Ramirez, M.A. ’13 (Student Affairs Administration), is an assistant professor of higher education at University at Buffalo. His research focuses on historically marginalized and economically neglected students, and specifically examines campus racial climates, sense of belonging, activism and resistance and other facets of students’ educational experiences.  
  • D’Andra Mull, M.A. ’04 (HALE), is the vice president for student life at University of Florida, a role she’s held since January 2020. In this position, Mull focuses on creating environments that enable students to achieve success. Previously, Mull held leadership roles in student life and affairs at Ohio State University.  

The Spartans join a list of faculty and graduates who have also received the distinction over the years. They include: Jodi Linley (2021); Marc P. Johnston-Guerrero (2020); Anne Hornak (2019); Mary Tregoning (2016); Heather Shea (2012); Professor Kristen Renn (2010); Professor Matthew Wawrzynski (2009); Maureen Wilson (2009); Elizabeth Whitt (2003); Tim J. Pierson (2001); Jill Carnaghi (2000); and Cynthia Johnson, Paul Oliaro, William L. (Bud) Thomas and the late Professor Louis Stamatakos in the inaugural Class of 2009.  

“ACPA Diamond Honorees are diverse in terms of their identities, institutional affiliations and contributions—but what they all have in common is that the field recognizes their excellence and impact in integrating scholarship and practice to make a difference in higher education,” said Renn. “That so many MSU graduates, faculty and professionals have been nominated demonstrates our position as leaders in the field.”