Austin receives Research Achievement Award

January 8, 2019

Ann E. Austin, associate dean for research in the Michigan State University College of Education, was recently recognized for her significant contributions to higher education research. She was the 2018 honoree of the Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE) Research Achievement Award, given to a scholar whose research has helped move the field forward.

Austin’s research has spanned across many distinctive areas, including improving teaching and learning; creating more inclusive environments in higher education; issues of organizational change; improving undergraduate and graduate STEM education, faculty development across their careers; international higher education and more.

Ann Austin

“ASHE is my scholarly home. I feel deeply honored to receive this award,” said Austin, who is also a professor of Higher, Adult, and Lifelong Education (HALE) and the assistant provost for faculty development—academic careers at MSU.

She has chaired and served on many committees, and from 2000-01, served as ASHE’s president. “I care a great deal about ASHE: The association advances the quality of higher education research, and prepares the next generation of researchers.”

Austin has been involved with ASHE for more than 35 years, having gone to some of their earliest meetings. Her dedication was recognized when she was presented with the first-ever Promising Scholar/Early Career Award in 1989. She received the Distinguished Service Award in 2003.

“In the MSU College of Education, we have a commitment to learning and helping society be better through learning,” Austin continued. “Being an effective educator isn’t just about strategies, but also about asking questions that help us do our work better. We should not be content with what we knew yesterday. We should always be striving to be better educators by cultivating a spirit of inquiry. ”

Austin was recognized at the organization’s annual conference in November 2018, where Professor Kris Renn was also instated as the organization’s president for 2018-19.


In 2017, Professor Emeritus Roger Baldwin was recognized with the Mentoring Award, honoring contributions to developing scholars. Department of Educational Administration Chairperson Marilyn Amey received the same honor in 2009, as well as the Distinguished Service Award, recognizing commitment to the organization, in 2015.