MSU scholars named top education influencers

January 21, 2018

Michigan State University is home to several of the nation’s scholars known for their influence in educational policy and practice. This is according to the annual Edu-Scholar Public Influence Rankings, by Rick Hess in his Education Week blog.

The rankings are selected by a committee of scholars, and are calculated on a number of scores including body of work, online and media mentions and other measures.

The MSU faculty members noted on the 200-person list for 2018 are:

  • Barbara Schneider, John A. Hannah Chair and University Distinguished Professor in the College of Education and Department of Sociology (#36)
  • William Schmidt, University Distinguished Professor and director of both the Center for the Study of Curriculum and the Education Policy Center (#124, tie)
  • Joshua Cowen, associate professor of education policy and the founder and co-director of the Education Policy Innovation Collaborative, or EPIC (#188)
  • Scott Imberman, associate professor of economics and education (#198)
  • Katharine Strunk, Clifford E. Erickson Distinguished Chair in Education, professor of education policy and co-director of EPIC (#199)

Alumni from the MSU College of Education are among those named on the Public Presence list. They include: Okhee Lee, Deborah Loewenberg Ball, Christopher Lubienski and David E. Kirkland.

In addition, several former MSU faculty members are on the list, such as Richard Elmore, Yong Zhao, David Labaree, Stephen Raudenbush, Nell Duke, Andy Porter, Lorrie Shepard, David Cohen, Aaron Pallas, Donald Heller and Ron Zimmer.

Related links