College of Education scholars to accept diversity awards

February 15, 2016

Two individuals and one program from the Michigan State University College of Education will receive Excellence in Diversity Awards from the university this month.

Established in 1990, the awards program recognizes and rewards efforts that support an environment where diversity and inclusion are valued.Ā Up to nine individuals, teams and programs receive the awards from the MSU Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives each year.

Trailblazing the way

Jones Stanbrough. Photo courtesy Communications and Brand Strategy, MSU.

Jones Stanbrough. Photo courtesy of Communications and Brand Strategy, MSU.

Raven Jones Stanbrough, a doctoral student in the Curriculum, Instruction and Teacher Education program, won inĀ the Emerging Progress (Individual) category. Stanbrough Jones is researching why students choose to be involved with debate, and what significance this has in their lives.

She was nominated by Patricia Edwards, professor of teacher education, with support from Pero Dagbovie, professor and associate dean of the MSU Graduate School; April Baker-Bell, assistant professor in the MSU College of Arts and Letters, and Dorothea Anagnostopoulos, executive director of teacher education and professor at the University of Connecticut’s Neag School of Education. Anagnostopoulos previously was an assistant professor in the College of Education.

“Jones Stanbrough is an outstanding individual with strong character,” Edwards wrote in the nomination letter. “She has the ability to produce impressive results in a variety of areas. Likewise, she is self-motivated, amicable, intelligent and has a desire to learn new things.Ā 

“Last year, she was the only graduate student in our entire college … to be selected by the university to participate in ‘The Grad Factor’ project. Raven was and is considered a trailblazing student who is leading the way in her work, research and efforts to prepare students to be global citizens through literacy and teacher education.”

Fully representing leadership

Hadley Dunn

Hadley Dunn

Assistant Professor Alyssa Hadley Dunn also won in the Emerging Progress (Individual) category. Hadley DunnĀ researches urban teacher education and the sociocultural and political contexts of urban schools.

She was nominated by her doctoral advisee students: Matthew Deroo, Scott Farver and Amy Guenther. She had additional letters from former dean Donald E. Heller, and current faculty members Dorinda Carter Andrews, associateĀ professor of teacher education, and Lynn Paine, assistant dean for international studies in education.

“Dunn’s brief record of productivity during her time at MSU [since joining the faculty in August 2014] speaks volumes to her commitment to advancing equity, diversity and inclusion,” Carter Andrews said in her nomination letter. “Her commitments, innovation and professional accomplishments give true and full meaning to demonstrating exceptional leadership in the areas of urban education, teacher education, allyship and critical multiculturalism.”Ā 

Stanbrough and Dunn will each receive a check for $2,500.

Making a difference


Gunnings-Moton. Photo courtesy of Communications and Brand Strategy, MSU.

The Urban Immersion Fellowship program won an award in the Excellent Progress Toward Diversity (Units/Organizations) category. The program helps develop leaders and educators through a seven-week summer fellowship in Detroit, Mich. The program was nominated by Margaret Crocco, chair of the Department of Teacher Education, and had additional support letters from Lamont D. Satchel, Esq., chief innovation officer for the Detroit Public Schools; Derek Aguirre, executive director of Racquet Up Detroit; Susan Florio-Ruane, former professor in the college, and Donald E. Heller, former dean of the college.

Sonya Gunnings-Moton, assistant dean for student support services and recruitment and director of the Urban Immersion Fellowship program, will accept the commemorative plaque on behalf of the program.

“The Urban Immersion Fellowship Program has provided MSU students with an opportunity to make a difference to Detroit’s public schools and its students, while improving the preparation of MSU teachers,” Crocco said in closing in her nomination letter. “As an initiative designed to improve student success on several fronts, the program has proved to be a win-win for those involved, for both Detroit students and teacher education students.”

They will receive their awards at a ceremony held at KelloggĀ  Center on Feb. 15, 2016.