College of Education wins Niagara award

October 25, 2013

Niagara Foundation logoThe College of Education at Michigan State University has received the 2013 Niagara Award in Education.

Each year, the Niagara Foundation-Michigan publicly recognizes individuals and organizations who have distinguished themselves in their profession and contributed time, energy and leadership in the areas of education, community service, peace, leadership or media. The nominations for the Niagara Peace and Dialogue Awards are solicited from thousands of people in Michigan and voted on by an awards committee.

MSU Acting Provost June Youatt received the honor on behalf of Dean Donald Heller and the entire College of Education faculty and staff during an awards ceremony Oct. 24 in Southfield, Mich. Also in attendance were Associate Dean of Academic Affairs Michael Sedlak, Assistant Dean of Student Affairs Susan Dalebout and Interim Chairperson Avner Segall of the Department of Teacher Education.

Past winners of Michigan’s Niagara Award in Education include University of Michigan President Mary Sue Coleman and Janice Brown, director emeritus of the Kalamazoo Promise program. The competing nominees for 2013 were the Program on Intergroup Relations at University of Michigan, Eileen L. Weiser, member of the State Board of Education, Rose Bellanca, president of Washtenaw Community College, and Phyllis A. Clemens Noda, of Eastern Michigan University.

The Niagara Foundation is dedicated to promoting intercultural and interfaith dialogue and to encouraging cultural exchange. Visit the foundation’s website for a list of award recipients in all categories.