Two from MSU inducted into athletic training hall of fame

June 25, 2012

Photo Courtesy of Michigan State Athletic Communications

John Powell and Sally Nogle, who teach in the Department of Kinesiology at Michigan State University, will be inducted into the National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA)  Hall of Fame on June 28, 2012.

The honor is reserved for athletic trainers whose long-standing careers represent the best of their profession.

Nogle, currently associate head athletic trainer for MSU, became the first female athletic trainer to work for a Big Ten football team when she went to work for the Spartans in the early 1980s. Out of more than 250 members, she is only the 12th woman to be admitted to the national Hall of Fame.

“I’m very honored; I’m humbled,” she told her hometown newspaper, the Mountain View Voice in Palo Alto, Calif. Read the full article to learn more about how she broke gender barriers throughout her career at MSU.

Powell is an associate professor of kinesiology and director of graduate programs in athletic training. He joined the faculty in 2000 and has been very instrumental in developing the undergraduate athletic training program, now a separate major. His own research interests focus on injury prevention, sports injury epidemiology and the biomechanics of lower extremity injuries, particularly in association with traction qualities of the shoe-surface interface.

Nogle has accompanied Spartan sports teams around the globe for everything from match-offs to Olympic events. Today she oversees Spartan field hockey and tennis, in addition to football. She received her Ph.D. in Kinesiology from MSU in 2001.

Both Nogle and Powell have received numerous other awards, including NATA’s Most Distinguished Athletic Trainer Award.

Earlier this year, they were awarded the Great Lakes Athletic Trainers’ Association (GLATA) Outstanding Educator Award, with fellow MSU trainer Dave Carrier, for their efforts to educate members of GLATA throughout the region.

The NATA Hall of Fame induction ceremony is part of the association’s annual meeting in St. Louis. Read the news release for more information about all 17 new inductees.