About Us

Our graduate and undergraduate research team members at Michigan State University work with local educators and a panel of expert collaborators to develop and implement online curriculum in 5th, 6th, and 7th grade biology science, particularly around the topic of heredity and related concepts, such as reproduction and cells.

Heredity Research Team

Principal Investigator
Michelle Williams Michelle Williams, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Science Education, Michigan State University
Website
mwilliam@msu.edu
Postdoctoral Scholar
JoiMerritt Joi Merritt
Ph.D. in Educational Studies (Science Education)
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor 2010
jmerritt@msu.edu
Graduate Researchers, MSU
Dante Cisterna Dante Cisterna
Curriculum Instruction and Teacher Education Program,
specializing in Science Education
cisterna@msu.edu

Viola Manokore Tamara Heck
Curriculum Instruction and Teacher Education Program,
specializing in Science Education
heckt@msu.edu

Alicia Trotman Alicia Trotman
Educator/Doctoral Candidate
Website
trotmana@msu.edu

Wenxia Wang Wenxia Wang
Curriculum and Instruction and Teacher Education Program
wangwenx@msu.edu

Xuechun Zhou Xuechun Zhou
Measurement and Quantitative Methods Program
zhouxuec@msu.edu

Undergraduate Researchers, MSU
Lizz Bartos Lizz Bartos
Pursuing B.S. in Computer Science at Northwestern University
lizz.bartos@u.northwestern.edu

Gemini Bhalsod Gemini Bhalsod
Pursuing B.S. in Plant Biology/Environmental Biology
bhalsodg@msu.edu

Amanda Opperman Amanda Opperman
MSU College of Education Graduate, High School Math Teacher
griff345@msu.edu

Consultants for Curriculum Design and Assessments
Heather Mueller Heather Mueller
High School Biology Teacher Consultant
mueller_ha@elps.k12.mi.us

Angela Haydel DeBarger Angela Haydel DeBarger
Senior Research Scientist, Center for Technology in Learning
SRI International
angela.haydel@sri.com

Erika Tate Erika D. Tate, Ph.D.
Designer/Researcher of Instructional Materials
bluknowledge.com
erikadtate@gmail.com

Yiyu Xie Yiyu Xie
Psychometrician
MY Analytics Group
yxie05@gmail.com

NSF, MSU logo, disclaimer